The Perpetual Blog of Gavin Crossley

Thought, Queries, Rants and Confessions of love

Transperth…

Transperth: Your local inept bus service…

Not my actual bus route.

Not my actual bus route.

Dear Transperth,

If you say the bus coming at 6am to my stop? I don’t know….delivery the fucking service would you please? It’s what you do!

I don’t mind being 5-10 minutes late to the train station, those trains run every 5-10 minutes at that time of day…that’s cool by me, I’ll still make work on time with no issues. But waiting for 25 minutes after the usual arrival time… fuck that.

Lift your game, guys. This is not first time you’ve failed at driving a bus route on time (not that you’re complaints department is any better) but for a service that says it’s one of the best in Australia, you may want to give our friends in Melbourne a call about their service and punctuality. That is a reliable transport system.

Example 2: Joondalup Train Station, late afternoon, a few weeks ago.

Another Note: I know this is petty, but this is what I think about on public transport.

I’m sitting, waiting for the Joondalup Shuttle Bus to the ECU, going through my haul of promo Cd’s for the upcoming radio show ( I was due on-air in about 2 hours). I’m fiddling with the packages after viewing my new content, when a lovely lass who was sitting next to me, grabs the boxes and holds the envelopes as I wrap the Cd’s back up with the elastic band (for some reason I lost all co-ordination between brain and hands at this moment). Her rather strange response to me saying ‘thank you’ was this…

Girl: I’m not going for your crotch (the Cd’s were in my lap), I’m just helping out.

Then she smiles and gets up.

I gave her a funny, yet shocked look. I’m an oddball but who says THAT! Wow.

*The bus pulls up*

Maybe I was still reeling from the last thing said to me (you have to admit it’s mighty strange thing to say to someone), but this girl and a few other randoms get on the bus, I stuff my CD’s in my bag as quickly as I can and as I get up…the bus pulls away…

Gav: What the f….SON OF A BITCH!

I was FURIOUS!

The bus pulling up and leaving was about 10 seconds in duration. Some people can’t finish a sentence in 10 seconds! I know I can’t.

10 SECONDS! Most buses at least give you 20-25. 10 seconds! The high school kids who saw this incident (for lack of a better word), thought it was a highly amusing scene. I gave them a dirty look, they turned away and continued on talking about whatever inane shit they were talking about before I was left in a cloud of carbon monoxide.

This was a bus port too! You expect at least a minute of stoppage time from the bus driver at the fucking busport. I even called the Transperth Complaints line afterwards and told them about this (yep, I’ve become one those people now). No response to my complaint yet…bastards.

So, this is your bus service Perth. Fuck, I hate bus drivers.

Regards

Gav

April 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment