The Perpetual Blog of Gavin Crossley

Thought, Queries, Rants and Confessions of love

Aussie Spirit: My view on (some networks) TV coverage of the Victorian Bushfires.

It’s a horrible, tragic event whats happened/happening in Victoria right now. 181 (as Feb 10th evening) have perished in a firestorm which no one could run or hide from. Nature at it’s most vicious and brutal. Whole families gone, kids without parents, parents without kids….hundreds more injured and 5000 plus homeless. Whole towns destroyed…you get the picture. Mighty fucked up for all involved.

Whole towns are left like this....its horrific!

Whole towns are left like this....it's horrific!

I want to be there in Victoria right now, i wanna be on the ground, handing out blankets, food and consoling people (they’re mostly inconsolable but I’d like to try). Me being 3000kms away and work commitments stop me from doing this. So i’ve done my bit and donated money to the Red Cross for these people. I couldnt give much but I gave my bit….that’s all i will say about my small contribution.

Do not label this mans efforts. Human Kindness needs no label.
Do not label this mans’ efforts. Human Kindness needs no label.

I, however…don’t call it a name. What people, companies and the government are doing for the victims of this fire does not need a label. We don’t need to fly flags, use emotive words or have David Koch wearing an Akrubra and using the word “Dinky-Di” on morning TV. This is not “Aussie Spirit”.

This is people doing the right thing.

Keep putting that Red Cross number on the screen and tell me the facts. We do not need to pat ourselves on the back. Just do the right thing, donate blood or money and go on with your day.

That’s good human shit, not labelling it and talking up “aussie spirit” and showing fucking flags. It’s people showing human kindness, do not tarnish the good will of people who have donated money, clothes and blood to get these poor people who have lost everything, including for some thier lives and loved ones.

Australians pulling together makes me proud to be human not proud to be Australian.

Regards

Gav

February 10, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. love you gav ur amazing! never change!
    My friends have lost there homes and i cant seem to contact my friend chez 😦 last time i spoke to her was 2 weeks ago:( this really sucks 😦

    Comment by simona | February 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment