The Perpetual Blog of Gavin Crossley

Thought, Queries, Rants and Confessions of love

Something that dawned on me yesterday…I expect hate mail too!

THANK FUCK I’M NOT A DOCKERS SUPPORTER!

Disappointing and possibly useless!

Disappointing and possibly useless!

I’m a Sydney Swans supporter,  but i’ll tell you even though my Swans are going to have a very bad year (they didnt score for 2 whole quarters last week!). I’m still glad the Dockers aren’t my team. I secretly hope they succeed (just for thier supporter base, because they’re normally better people than those Eagles supporters) I really do. I’ll openly HATE the Eagles and they’re “superior” supporters until I die too.

But just watching them yesterday as a innocent bystander, you just think FUCK SAKE, YOU’RE A PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL PLAYER…HIT A TARGET!!!. I would have changed teams by now if I was a Dockers supporter as a kid. How does one team constantly fuck it up so much?

I’ve watched Carlton go First to Worst to nearly there again (Juddy and Co. are marching). Melbourne (last year’s easy beats) were in a GRAND FINAL 9 years ago. My own Swans were shit for a good 25 years straight (some of that as South Melbourne)….we won a premiership in 2005 and were 1pt shy of a 2nd in a row in2006 :(. Port who were introduced to the competition 2 years LATER than Freo won a premiership in 2004….the best the Dockers have done was ONE preliminary final in 2006…which my Swannies SMASHED them in. The one of THREE years they’ve been in the finals….they’ve been around for nearly 15 years! Port won that premiership I mentioned earlier in SEVEN years!

The reason why:

So how is it that the Freo Dockers with loyal supporters (to a fault), a bit of cash and Matthew Pavlich in the side…. lose so much? Is it Bad Recruiting (yes actually)? injuries? bad coaching? trouble in the clubhouse? apathy?

I know what it is….it’s the song!

It’s awful!!!!!!!!!

I apologize for audio quality…they should apologise for the song!

What an awful club song….most of the club songs are decent…for ripped off march or US college fight songs. The Swans song is the US Marine’s song.

But who wants to win and hear THAT! Freo Heave ho? Even the Eagles have a better song! Freo Heave Ho…sounds like you need to throw up.

I also realised what it may be….

THEY WEAR PURPLE, GREEN AND RED!

This is the shittest uniform in Pro Sports

This is the shittest uniform in Pro Sports

They colour purple itself is not solely responsible…in Basketball, The LA Lakers have multiple championships in PURPLE and yellow.

Kobe Bryant and Lakers..3 champions in this decade wearing PURPLE

Kobe Bryant and Lakers..3 championships THIS decade in PURPLE

But seriously, PURPLE, RED AND GREEN. What about Red and Yellow? Black…just plain ol’ black!

What man (or woman) wants to represent or wear those colours…

Even the logo sucks!

Even the logo sucks!

This is their coach, Mark Harvey...poor bastard

This is their coach, Mark Harvey...poor bastard

I know what it is definately…it’s this…

I don’t care if we lose every game, as long as we beat the Eagles -A Dockers supporter

WHAT THE FUCK?

So the team only shows up for 2 games a year…if I found out that was my team motivation during the year…that most important game was the local derby…i’d fire them on the spot….turn up and give your all for all 22 games…and finals…jesus!

What does say about the supporters? So downtrodden that they base their entire year on 2 games against West Coast…aim high, Freo supporters! How about a premiership cup? I’d be happy to lose to the Eagles TWICE this year if we won the premiership in exchange….not going to happen by the way…The Swans genuinely suck this year.

Fremantle are the most dissapointing team in Australian sports. I will continue to watch the train wreck which is thier football games (for the drama alone). I will continue to hope for something to change, but I know it won’t…. poor Freo and thier supporters.

Regards

Gav

March 30, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. a lot can happen in 12 months Gav

    Comment by Mez | May 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes, it can. I will eat my words so far…I actually hope they do well. It’s about time they did something!

      Comment by Jason Baker | May 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment